SSC CGL 2016 Exam in August | New Pattern Released with More Marks

SSC CGL 2016 Exam postponed,SSC CGL 2016 Tier I Exam Online,Why SSC CGL 2016 was postponedThe SSC CGL 2016 Tier I New Exam pattern has been released after it was postponed few months ago.Candidates should now appear for the tier I examinations on August 27, 2016, as per the latest notification issued by Staff Selection Commission.More changes including online test, marking structure, exam sections etc are also announced for SSC CGL 2016 exams making it more competitive for the current times.


The SSC CGL 2016 exam is the entrance to get jobs in central government ministries/ departments in Group B & C cadres.Some of the top SSC CGL posts are Inspector (Income tax, Central excise), Auditor in CAG, Tax assistants etc., 


Atleast 8000-10,000 vacancies are filled every year through SSC CGL exams.The selection process consists of two stages (Tier I & Tier II) and only those who qualify in these tests shall be eligible for appointment.


SSC CGL 2016 – Changes in Tier 1 Exam

Initially, the SSC CGL tier I exam was supposed to be held on May 8 & 22nd but now it is scheduled on August 27, 2016.


The important points of this revised scheme of exam are,


1) Both the Tier I & II are online tests.


2) Tier I will contain 100 questions for 200 marks with duration of 75 minutes.


3) No changes in Tier II marks or time limit.


4) Tier III is introduced from this year onwards.It is descriptive paper on english or hindi language for 100 marks.


5) Final merit list to be prepared based on the overall performance in Tier I, II & III


6) No sectional cutoffs but should qualify in each tier seperately.


SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern

SSC was planning to implement online tests for CGL exams from last year but it has finally materialised in 2016.


Since the tier I exams are to be conducted online, they have completely revamped the sections as well.


SSC CGL Exam Pattern


Increase in negative marks: The number of questions are reduced from 200 to 100 but the total marks of 200 would still continue.It means, you will be given 2 marks for each correct answer.


To prevent guessing of options, 0.50 marks would be reduced as negative marking for each wrong answer.


Time reduced: Since there are only 100 questions, the total duration of tier I exam is reduced to 75 minutes.It was 120 minutes initially.


No sectional cutoffs: There are no seperate cutoffs for each section but candidates should above a certain cutoff on the total score inorder to qualify in tier I.


Note: SSC CGL Tier I exam marks of candidates who clear Tier II & III will also be considered while preparing the final merit list.


Books for SSC CGL Exam

With the tier I exams set to start on August 27th, here are some top selling SSC CGL books list that you may require to start preparing.


Click here to buy online SSC CGL Tier I & II Exam Guide for Rs.392


SSC CGL previous year solved papers for Rs.155 – Click here to buy online


SSC CGL Tier II Exam Pattern

Candidates who qualify in Tier I are  shortlisted for Tier II online exams, the dates for which should be announced later.


There is no change in the ssc cgl tier II examination but many were confused about the breakup, we decided to share it clearly.


SSC CGL Exam Pattern Tier II


Paper I & II – compulsory for all categories of posts


Paper III – to be taken by only those who applied for Statistical Investigator Gr.II & Compiler posts


Paper IV – only for those who applied for Assistant Audit Officer


Already applied for SSC CGL? Then checkout how to prepare for SSC CGL exam in 1 month with detailed study plan & topics to cover


Tier III & Tier IV Exams

The combined graduate level exam is much bigger compared to other exams.So SSC is testing the large number of candidates at various levels in different subjects.


As part of it, Tier III phase is included from SSC CGL 2016 onwards which is not an online test.


Tier III is a descriptive paper to test your english or hindi language proficiency for 100 marks.The main highlights of this test are:

  • Questions on essay writing, precis writing, letter writing & application writing.
  • Candidates can choose to write the test in english or hindi medium
  • Answers to be written on paper only.
  • Time duration: 60 minutes

The marks you score in this exam shall also be added along with tier I & II for final selections.


Tier IV: This comprises of skill tests that are required only for few positions & not for everyone.It includes 2 types of tests:

  • Data Entry Speed Test (DEST) – for Tax Assistants (central excise & income tax)
  • Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) - Assistant Section Officer of CSS

Candidates who quailfy for the above posts only need to participate in tier IV.SSC would notify such people to participate in these tests.


The official notice about this change of exam pattern is available on ssc website here


When lakhs of candidates are preparing hard to clear the SSC CGL exams, it is necessary for the selection process to be fair & transparent.Taking into account the future of numerous job aspirants, this step is a welcome move by SSC.

Get FREE Email Alerts on Bank Jobs/Exams & other Govt Recruitment news, Tips to Prepare & Books ->

Share this :